Arcanum Unbounded: The Cosmere Collection book summary

Date Published: November 22, 2016

Arcanum Unbounded: Summary

Within the pages of 'Arcanum Unbounded,' travel to realms where gods are slain and worlds are shattered! Brandon Sanderson's opus 'Arcanum Unbounded: The Cosmere Collection' invites readers on a journey through nine awe-inspiring stories, each set in the diverse worlds of Sanderson's interconnected Cosmere universe. Spanning from the shards of Roshar, the metallic plains of Scadrial, to the war-ravaged landscape of Sel, and the ethereal realms of Shadesmar, Sanderson delves into the intricate tapestry of the Cosmere.

Underpinning the narratives is the complex cosmology of Investiture, the universal power that fuels magic, shaping the destiny of beings and worlds alike. With each story, the breadth of the Cosmere expands, unveiling its layered mysteries through tales of survival, sacrifice, and the struggle between light and darkness. Sanderson skillfully integrates the lores, revealing how worlds, magic systems, and characters are interlinked, setting the stage for future narratives.

Prepare to be entranced by the machinations of ancient, god-like Shards, challenged by the moral quandaries posed by the deathless Elantrians, and captivated by the resilience of Scadrial's Mistborn. Unravel the complexities of Shardblades and spren on Roshar while exploring the ramifications of the power known as BioChromatic Breath on Nalthis. Every story teems with Sanderson's signature imaginative breadth and narrative depth, featuring carefully curated postscripts that offer rare insights into the author's vision and his plans for the Cosmere.

Spoilers (click here to reveal spoilers)

Arcanum Unbounded: The Cosmere Collection book summary
Buy this book on

Arcanum Unbounded

Author: Brandon Sanderson

Date Published: November 22, 2016

Support Us: By purchasing through our Amazon link, we earn as an Amazon Associate. Thank you for your support!

Arcanum Unbounded: Genres

High Fantasy
Epic Fantasy
Magic Realism

Arcanum Unbounded: Main Characters

Kelsier: The audacious and charismatic leader of a band of misfits in Mistborn, epitomizing hope and defiance against oppressive regimes. His unyielding spirit is reflected when he takes on a god in battle, despite the odds.

Shallan Davar: The Lightweaver in The Stormlight Archive, her courage to confront the truth of her tragic past and capacity for change signify personal growth and acceptance.

Raoden: The exiled prince in Elantris, his resilience in the face of transformation and his commitment to lead his fellow cursed inhabitants showcase his leadership and compassion.

Lift: The young and quirky Edgedancer from Roshar, her tenacity and empathy shine through as she uses her powers to help the forgotten ones, defying the constraints of her society.

Arcanum Unbounded: Themes

Sacrifice: The selfless act of giving for a greater good, as evidenced when Kelsier sacrifices his life to inspire rebellion against the Final Empire in Mistborn.

Resilience: The courage to persevere in the face of adversity, exemplified by Raoden’s efforts to uplift his fellow Elantrians amidst their cursed existence.

Discovery and Transformation: The process of self-realization and growth, shown through Shallan’s journey to uncover her past, acknowledge her powers, and accept her potential as a scholar, artist, and Radiant.

Power and its Ramifications: The exploration of the effects of power, illustrated by the destructive forces of the Shards and the societies formed around their Investiture, teaching that power is not inherently evil but can be used for both creation and destruction.

0 0 votes
Overall Rating
Notify of

0 Book Reviews
Inline Feedbacks
View all reviews